My Creative Space…

A little early I know, but its getting hard to do this at my usual time and place due to other commitments – meetings all day tomorrow in other words!

How fun are parcels in the mail???? This week I got my very own signed copy of YOU SEW GIRL, plus a very cool bundle of zips and a 1″ bias tape maker…YAY! Plus my very first Martha Stewart book, and the FRANKIE Spaces publication. All very nice to receive after a rough day at work I must say.

This week I have been plodding along on my knitting. As I restarted due to my perfectionism I am feeling a little bit remorseful about it, BUT I will get there in the end.

Over the weekend I spent a lot of time trying to figure out how to sew clothes for my Blythe dolls.  I would like to add them to a list of things to sell at some stage, but not until I perfect the patterns I am making (first time ever for doing this!) I have found that either my printer doesn’t print the scale that everyone elses does or my dolls are a different size to all others in the ENTIRE universe.  This could be seen as a negative, however, it has made my venture into the new territory of pattern drafting.  Here are my two efforts from the weekend…

Now I might add, I have been a bit shy in saying how much I love Blythe dolls! I don’t have millions, maybe want one or two more, don’t ‘play with them but love to create things for them…odd, but FUN.  I put it down to not really having a doll fostering upbringing. Apparently footies were more appropriate.  I am now starting to seriously doubt that.

Anyway, the next project for my creative space MIGHT be a repurposed bookshelf from start to finish (ie right now it houses paperwork, CD ROMS etc and STUFF.   Later it MIGHT house dolls LOL, always wanted to make a doll house and now I just think I will,, DD is up for it though she is in no way at all impressed with or interested in playing with dolls or even thinking about them much. Hee hee.

You can go to Kootoyoo to find more creative spaces.  I am going over now to see if the linkin thingo is working!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kelly
    May 05, 2011 @ 19:41:53

    Nothing like some crafty books to brighten up a day! I’ve heard good things about the ‘spaces’ book, and the new ‘You Sew Girl’ book looks fantastic. Hope you get a chance to soak up the inspiration which I’m sure abounds in these.

    Reply

  2. Mhairi
    May 05, 2011 @ 21:38:35

    Hi – this is Mhairi from Let’s Stitch
    Love the dresses. As strange as it sounds I would love a Blythe doll as I love to make dolls clothes but I think I will wait til my little girl is older and I can make clothes for her doll.
    Have you seen Sew Mama Sew – they had a tutorial on pattern drafting awhile ago.

    Reply

  3. Nikki
    May 06, 2011 @ 10:31:43

    Great to see the book arrived! And wow – what a lot of other inspiring reading you have!
    Enjoy. xn

    Reply

  4. Naturally Carol
    May 06, 2011 @ 14:14:29

    I totally understand…yesterday i got the urge to make a mini apron…and put it on a teddy as that was the only ‘doll’ i had!! I hope those Blythe dolls will be dressed in the best in future.

    Reply

  5. amanda
    May 07, 2011 @ 16:58:04

    Howdy, I have Nikki’s book ready for mother’s day can’t wait to get to look at it properly cover to cover and start making.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

