My Creative Space…..

I know, I know, Kirsty said there is no linky thing this week, but I want this to be a habit and am not stopping for anyone! (Plus it was my school holidays last week, we only have one week, so here I am today 🙂  )

I always took myself to be a non-knitter.  I have tried and tried over the years to knit anything from a scarf to one of the famous clown dolls.  Boy I gave it my best shot.  I LOVE knitted garments so VERY much, but thought I would never be able to produce my own…thats all changed! YAY!  Just before our holiday the BH+G mag had a knitting pattern book with easy to complicated items in it.  There is a lovely garter stitch swing jacket that I thought possible but had the little voice of doubt going on in my head.  On holidays I bought the wool and needles (two sizes no less!) to give it a go.  Lastnight I got out a knitting book for kids that I found in my school library.  Tis SO EASY!  Can’t believe it.  Figured out what I was doing wrong all these years.  I made a little practice swatch lastnight before I got all gung ho and wasted the wool for the project.  This is what I came up with….

And as promised here is a BAD photo of my new fabric stash….please excuse plastic bags…took the photo on my way out the door!

I would like to extend a big thank you to the few who have offered to help in my quest for a school cafe.  It is really exciting to see things coming together with your emails of what you have.  You are doing something REALLY wonderful and if I could I would hug you ;-D

Normally I would say to get on over to Kootoyoo to see what the rest of the world has been creating, but they are apparently having a rest for the school hols.  I think you should go there anyways because Kirsty has been on a mission decorating ugly wire coathangers and has produced some very AMAZING little items.  You will be most impressed!!!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. AngelPearls
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 15:44:22

    Good luck with knitting! Love your fabrics! Eva

    Reply

  2. Tammi
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 08:03:05

    I couldn’t stop myself from posting my creative space either 🙂

    Once you get the hang of knitting there will be no holding you back. I was a bit like that with crochet…have always loved it by for the life of me could never quite grasp it…but determination and perserverance paid off big time as I am so addicted now that I can’t stop.

    Gorgeous fabrics….I really need to replenish my stash too.
    xx

    Reply

  3. Laura
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 17:57:50

    Knitting has long been on my list too – I started last summer, but didn’t quite take to it. Looking at your swatch makes me want to have another go!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

