MY CREATIVE SPACE

20110325-040132.jpg

20110325-040153.jpg

20110325-040213.jpg

Yum! Watermelon and Ginger jam…over Christmas i finally made my first ever jams and LOVED the whole process.
Over the past two weeks we harvested more than 60kgs of watermelon and that was just 6 melons!
There is only so much you can give away and i have been keen to try my hand at sauce or jam since tasting watermelon and chilli sauce from and old bloke up the road from the farm. So jam is my creation this week…
The recipe is simply a basic jam recipe with a twist.
WATERMOLON AND GINGER JAM
Ingredients:
5kg melon
3.5kg sugar
Juice and rind of 2 lemons
Reasonable size knob of Ginger(mine was half my palm)
2pkts jam setta

Chop melon flesh into small pieces and place in LARGE pot. Add sugar and warm through till all juicey then turn up the heat. Peel and grate Ginger, add lemons. Cook on high simmer/ slow boil till liquid clears. This took well over an hour! Much of melon dissolves. Rinse and steralise jars (5mins hot oven). While jars in oven add jam setta and continue to boil 15-20 mins. Remove jars and let cool SLIGHTLY. they must be hot to add jam. Test for set according to setta packet. Add to jars, add lids and let cool. ENJOY!!!

You ca find many more creative spaces @ http://www.kootoyoo.com/2011/03/my-creative-space-9.html

Don’t forget to leave a comment to let me know you were here and I will visit you to see what you have been up to 🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. callatya
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 16:54:14

    Oh yum! That looks delicious! I’ve always wanted to try making my own jam but somehow the whole process seems too difficult. It is the jar sterilising that gets me.
    Glad you found something to do with your truckload of melon 🙂

    Reply

  2. Cat
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 18:23:01

    I love making jam and tomato chutney too, it just tastes amazing. Wow, watermelon and ginger jam, I am sure I would love that too, I am going to add it to my lift of things to make some time in the future.

    Reply

  3. tracey
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 19:08:04

    wow, I am intrigued, I have never heard of using watermelon in jam! I do love watermelon and ginger in juice, however, so I bet your jam is delicious.

    Reply

  4. Andrea
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 20:33:08

    …hmmm mouth watering…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

